42 y/o Christian man seeking room near Cambridge/Somerville and/or housemate(s)

About Me

I’m a 42-year-old, pet-less male looking to live with one or more male house-mates. Some things that are important to me are my Orthodox Christian faith and spirituality, spending time with other people and getting to know them, working hard at my job (but not more than 40-45 hours a week on average), and doing what I can to make the world a better place. In terms of career, I’m a Software Engineer and work in Kendall Square, Cambridge.

People describe me as a studious, quiet, conscientious, thoughtful, and easy-to-get-along-with person with a sense of humor.

Some ways I like to relax are listening to music on headphones, reading, having good conversations, taking walks, and the occasional board game. I don’t typically watch TV, and seldom find time for movies.

I don’t have much furniture. I’m willing and able to buy some.

I’m allergic to cats and dogs (sadly—the dog in my picture is a friend’s), but not to anything else that I know of.

I might have a few friends over occasionally, not more than a couple times a month, and not to drink alcohol or play loud music.

I have a car and am OK with on-street permit parking.

What I’m looking for

I’m looking for a place with a short commute to Kendall Square, either on foot or via public transit. I prefer living near the Cambridge/Somerville area, to stay close to work, friends and family. I’d be up for living with one or more male house-mates, or a married couple. I like to keep a relatively quiet environment. I’d prefer to have some common area(s) available without TV background noise.

I’m flexible about a move-in date, but would prefer 2+ months in the future. I’d prefer a place where I could live for many (or at least a few) years.

Whether you have a room to rent or are interested in jointly finding and leasing an apartment, I’d like to hear from you.

Desired values/ground rules

I’d like to live with people who have similar values, specifically:

  • No drugs (marijuana, etc.)
  • No female overnight visitors
  • Moderation in TV, video games, and alcohol
  • No smoking

Contacting me

Feel free to contact me by email or phone. My email address is joel@jsullivan.us. My phone number is 617 953-5853.